Sour Cream Biscuits for Skydiving

Greetings, gentle readers.

I come to you on the heels of a rather awesome week for the Insomnibaker, though something of a fraught evening.  Oh, the delights this week has brought.  Particularly this evening, surrounded by my incredible family.  We spent the bulk of the evening at Beacon, merrily munching bone marrow on horseradish toast, bacon-wrapped monkfish, roasted scallops and oysters, and wood oven roasted suckling pig.

We’re Jewish.  I swear.

Anyhow, despite the loveliness of the evening, I type before you skittish and terrified.  Why, you may ask?  Because your Insomnibaker has decided, for the second year in a row, to flout both gravity and her crushing fear of heights to go skydiving as a part of Operation Freefall, which raises money for the victims of sexual assault.

It’s a terrific cause, and a honestly, the experience of leaping out into the open air strapped to a bulky dude is as exhilarating as one could hope for.  But I am terrified of heights.  TEH. RUH.  FIED.  And the living in the Age of Google doesn’t help one bit (all day I’ve been searching for “skydiving tandem deaths 2010).

But I thought that a little baking would soothe my timid and fearful soul.  I had planned on a dessert, but I didn’t plan enough to actually have eggs in the refrigerator.   It’s easy to find recipes without a variety of ingredients, but eggs are hard to get around– especially if you can’t wait hours for butter to firm up.

However, I did have some sour cream sitting around being useless, which provided the light bulb flash I needed.  Biscuits!  A few quick searches later, I had a recipe from Smitten Kitchen and was on my way to a delicious post-skydiving snack for tomorrow.

  1. I preheated (pre-het?) the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. I grated up my cheeses.  I only had a few ounces of cheddar, so I also used about 4 ounces of Gruyere, which happens to be the very favorite cheese of one of my skydiving buddies tomorrow.  I am so thoughtful IT BLOWS MY MIND.
  3. In a large bowl, I whisked together 1 and 1/2 cups flour, 2 tsps baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, and a nice pinch of sea salt.

    Ready for transformation.

  4. I pinched in 2 tablespoons butter with my hands, until it was all nice and crumbly.
  5. Into the flour mixture, I mixed in 1 cup sour cream, my cheeses (about 1 and 1/2 cups), and 2 tablespoons of green chilis.  I think pickled jalepenos (what the recipe calls for) would have been a better choice, but these were fine.
  6. I turned the whole sticky mess out onto a floured surface, and cut it into 8 little biscuits.  I don’t have a biscuit cutter.  It’s just not how I roll.
  7. Then I had 15-17 minutes to continue googling skydiving fatality rates and pondering what will clearly be my abrupt, splattery demise.

Melty, gooey, and delicious.

Verdict:  Yummalicious.  I suppose that if tomorrow I do indeed perish in a dramatic, swooping wooosh of doom, these would be a nice way to remember me.  So, dear readers, if this is to be my last post, I hope that you will remember your Insomnibaker fondly, and bake these biscuits with care.

About sleeplessbaker

Your average world traveling, ukulele playing, bawdy songwriting, Muppet loving, curve-rocking, formerly drunk-ass actor-singer-model-producer-blogger on a quest to get a handle on life-skills she should have learned in elementary school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

