Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Greetings, my Insomnilytes.

It’s been an unconscionably long time since I’ve written you last.  It’s been busy in the world of Insomnibaker.  The workplace has taken a turn into the truly bizarre, and I’ve reached a personal milestone  I wish I could tell you about, but I can’t.  It’s a seeeeeeeecret.

In other new, I bought myself a gorgeous jar of virgin coconut oil.  The Internetz have been telling me that coconut oil will clear clogged arteries and give you a sleek shiny coat.  Therefore, I should bake with it!!

I found a recipe on the Visions of Sugar Plums blog.  This one used coconut oil, but also browned butter– therefore, an opportunity for experimentation and nearly-guaranteed deliciousness.

  1. In a small saucepan, I browned 1/2 cup unsalted butter.  The smell was so good I wish I could marry it and have it whisper sweet, caramel-flavored nothings to me for the rest of my life.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, I creamed together the browned butter, 1/4 cup coconut oil, 3/4 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 cup granulated sugar.
  3. Holy jeebus that smelled good.  So. Good.

    Coconut oil . . . making this healthy!

  4. I mixed in one egg and 2 tablespoons vanilla, until it was well and truly mixed.  Yea and verily.
  5. Then I sprinkled in a healthy pinch of Red Hawaiian (Alea) Sea Salt.
  6. I was watching Love and Other Drugs yesterday, and have been thinking about it ever since.  It’s actually not awful, though I have a bit of trouble believing that Donnie Darko is the unstoppable sex-god he’s playing in the movie.  Ann Hathaway is surprisingly delightful, and Oliver Platt is at his snarky Plattiest.  But the movie reinforces the most awful of chick-flick stereotypes– that angry, self-hating women who chronically jump into bed with shallow, commitment-phobic men that secretly just want to be loved . . . will get exactly what they want once the shallow, commitment-phobic men realize that all they ever wanted was to take care of an angry, self-hating woman.
  7. Trust me, I dated those men.  They were not interested in taking care of an angry-self-hating woman.  Unfortunately, now that I’m not angry and self-hating anymore, they’re also not as interested in having a meaningless relationship with me.  You win some . . . .
  8. I mixed in 2 cups of flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, and 3/4 teaspoon baking powder into the butter and sugar mixture.
  9. Then I stirred in a bag of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips.  The texture was not typical of cookie dough– I actually had to knead it together a bit with my hands.
  10. I covered the dough with plastic wrap, and let it chill for 30 minutes while I preheated the oven to 375 degrees.
  11. After the cookie dough was chilled, I formed the dough into balls with my hands, and laid them out on a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper.
  12. I baked the cookies for 12 minutes, it made about 16 large cookies.

 

BEHOLD MY CHOCOLATEY DELICIOUSNESS!!!

 

Verdict:  YOU GUYS.  These are kind of the best cookies ever.  Visions of Sugar Plums was not lying when she called these the ultimate chocolate chip cookies.  You can really taste the deep, caramel flavors of the brown butter.  I thought I could taste a hint of coconut oil, but I could have been wrong.  They’re not two sweet, but the texture is dense and chewy.

I burned the cookies on the bottom rack, so if I had to do it over again, I would bake them in two batches on the top rack.  But other than that, holy crap these were good.

Back to sleep, my lovelies.

About sleeplessbaker

Your average world traveling, ukulele playing, bawdy songwriting, Muppet loving, curve-rocking, formerly drunk-ass actor-singer-model-producer-blogger on a quest to get a handle on life-skills she should have learned in elementary school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brown Butter Coconut Oil Monster Cookies | A Bit of Sweetness for the Sleepless

Leave a Reply

