Midnight Pecan Mini-Muffins

Well folks, we’ve reached an impasse.

We don’t have an event tomorrow for which I can bake.  In fact, we have an event today for which I could have baked, but didn’t.  We have an event on Wednesday for which I can still bake . . . but I wanna bake nowwwwwwwwwww.

 

Simple pleasures for a complicated person.

Nevermind that it’s midnight, and that your Insomnibaker is deadly sleepy.  Sadly though, this is the fate of someone so dang insomniriffic as myself.   I have the day off tomorrow.  And could I spend it refreshed and productive?  Oh noooo.  I shall groggily stagger through the day, feeling overworn and cranky.

 

If one is confined to such a fate, surely one should have delicious mini-muffins for comfort, yes?  I got myself some pecans the other day, not knowing what to do with them.  THIS is what to do with them.

  1. I preheated the oven to 350 degrees, and then melted 2/3 cup butter, and allowed it to cool.
  2. Okay, I’ll be honest, I had to Google how many tablespoons 2/3 cups butter was.
  3. Wow, the grammar in that last sentence was all kinds of fucked up.

    Me, my sassy nails . . . and some nuts.

  4. Anyhow, it was about 11 tablespoons.
  5. In a medium-sized bowl, I mixed together 1 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour (really, just half a cup!), and 1 cup pecans.  It looked crumbly and delicious.
  6. Into my melted and cooled butter, I lightly beat two eggs.  Only lightly, since they hadn’t really been so bad after all.
  7. I mixed the butter and egg mixture into the dry ingredients, and stirred until they were just mixed.
  8. I spooned the batter into my adorable mini-muffin tins, generously coated with non-stick cooking spray.
  9. The muffins needed to bake for about 22 minutes, just enough time to watch at episode of 3rd Rock from the Sun.
  10. I had seriously forgotten how fantastic this show was.  Remember that magic time before John Lithgow creeped us all out on Dexter?  Before Joseph Gordon-Levitt was hot?  When French Stewart was hilarious?!?!?!
  11. Muffins are done, and easily pop out of their little tins to cool.

 

BEHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLD

Verdict:  You guys.  These muffins are not only deliciously sweet (but not overly so), but cheaply made and easy to throw together at the last minute.  It’s the type of thing every Domestic Goddess should have ready to whip together for lunches and snacks– midnight and midday alike.

 

About sleeplessbaker

Your average world traveling, ukulele playing, bawdy songwriting, Muppet loving, curve-rocking, formerly drunk-ass actor-singer-model-producer-blogger on a quest to get a handle on life-skills she should have learned in elementary school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Midnight Pecan Mini-Muffins

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free Cake Ballz | A Bit of Sweetness for the Sleepless

Leave a Reply

