Sunday Night Blondie Mini-Bites

Greetings, dear readers.

So happy together . . .

For tonight’s baking adventures, I needed something quick-fixy that would satisfy my desire to back, and my desire to use up the bag of Nestle Peanut Butter / Chocolate Chip Combo bag that’s been burning a hole  hole in my pantry for weeks. The estimable Smitten Kitchen has a recipe for blondies that, in the parlance of our times, kicks all kinds of ass.  It’s easy, it’s one-bowl, and, uh, it makes blondies. What more can you ask for?

 

To spice mine up a bit, I made them into mini-muffins.  Have I mentioned that making things mini automatically makes them more tasty?  Well, it does.

  1. I preheated my oven to 350, as does befit a Domestic Goddess such as myself.

    Kitchen towels-- instant Americana

  2. In a medium sized bowl, I melted 8 tablespoons of butter, and mixed it together with 1 cup of dark brown sugar.  You could use light brown sugar, if you wanted.  Whatevs.  No big whup.
  3. I beat in one egg, a dash of vanilla, and a few grinds of the ol’ sea salt mill.
  4. I mixed in a cup of flour.
  5. Do you see how gorgeously easy this is?
  6. I mixed in my peanut butter / chocolate morsels, but you can use just about anything.  Nuts, dried fruit, different chocolate blends, anything.
  7. I coated two 12 mini-muffin pans with non-stick cooking spray.
  8. I added about two tablespoons of batter to each cup.  These don’t rise, so you can fill each cup right to the top.
  9. I placed them ever-so-lovingly in the oven, because they deserve care and attention.
  10. Much like myself.
  11. Sigh.

    Fat and sugar, surrounded by grease. This is okay.

  12. I’m not even sure why I was compelled to bake tonight anyway.  We don’t have an event tomorrow.  Because it’s Valentine’s Day, and I have no plans.  I have an early day, and I’m exhausted.  The Woes of the Sleepless Baker are Many, my friends.  MANY.
  13. These needed to bake for about 18 minutes, but you may want to keep an eye on them.  Blondies are actually best when they’re juuuust underdone, and still gooey in the middle.
  14. After letting them cool for a bit, they popped right out of the muffin tins quite easily, as though they were happy to do so.
  15. “Liberate me!” they seemed to say.  “Vive le mini-blondies!!”

BEHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLD!!!

Verdict:  Absolutely adorable, and very tasty.  I think I left these in the oven a minute or two too long, as they were slightly dry, but I ain’t complaining.  If I were a suburban mom, I would make these for every possible school function I could.  I’ll bet you could even make ’em plain and decorate them with frosting.  This is the type of firm, sturdy base you can add just about anything too and it will still be delicious.

And with that, mon petit insomnibakers, I must crash into bed.

About sleeplessbaker

Your average world traveling, ukulele playing, bawdy songwriting, Muppet loving, curve-rocking, formerly drunk-ass actor-singer-model-producer-blogger on a quest to get a handle on life-skills she should have learned in elementary school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

