Cheesecake Truffles

Greetings, sports fans.

Tonight’s post will be short and sweet.  It’s been something of a whirlwind this past week.  I can report that my Flourless NanoCupcakes were on like Donkey Kong at my latest event.  I had guests that were actually moaning with pleasure and licking the wrappers.  No joke.  Your insomnibaker is a gee-nee-yoos.

For tomorrow night’s event, I thought I would make some truffles.  The Dreaded V-Day is coming up, and there’s really nothing better to drown your sorrows in than a perfect bite of sugar and fat.  I had also thought of baking a cheesecake, as my dear Uncle recently sent me my very own springform pan.

Though for events, I’m very much in favor of the bite-size treat.  They just work out better.  They’re cuter.  Things are just better when they’re cuter.  Therefore . . . Cheesecake Truffles.

Ain't they just the cutest?

  1. In a bowl, I mixed together 12 ounces of cream cheese(1.5 packages . . . it was all I had in the fridge), 3 eggs, 3/4 cup sugar, 1/3 cup heavy cream, a little vanilla, and a little salt.
  2. In batches, I put the lumpy mixture into my magic bullet and whipped it into a light, frothy yellow loveliness.  I poured it all into a pan lined with parchment paper, and put it into a 350 degree oven and let it bake for 30 minutes.
  3. While that was going on, I actually scrubbed my kitchen clean.  And I mean scrubbed.  Lady Macbeth on a bender-type scrubbing.  This pleases the Insomnibaker.
  4. After the cheesecake-sorta thing was done baking, I let it cool for about 45 minutes.  I’ve been taking myself through Torchwood, and soaking up the hunky, Botoxed goodness that is John Barrowman.  For those of you who don’t know, Torchwood is a perfectly lovely piece of sci-fi British camp that is about to be completely destroyed by becoming a cheesy American serial.  I’m a patriot, y’all, but not when it comes to BBC sci-fi.
  5. Once the cheesecake had totally cooled, I mixed it all up in a medium-sized bowl with about 6 ounces mini chocolate chips.   I formed it into 1-inch balls, which looked lumpy and unappealing.  However, I myself am sometimes lumpy and unappealing, so I felt kindly towards the yet-unmade truffles.
  6. I let the balls of cheesecake chill in the freezer on a parchment paper-covered pan, for about an hour.  Enough time for another Torchwood! One with the pterodactyl in it.

    Creamy and dreamy

  7. Once the truffles had nearly finished chilling, I melted 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate over the stove, then, in stages, added another 6 ounces or so, mixing really fast each time I added more chocolate.  Ghetto tempering.  I’ve heard this adds sheen and snap to the chocolate.  Soooo, whatevs.  Maybe?
  8. I also melted 6 ounces white chocolate and put it into a pastry bag, and snipped off the tip.  Maybe that was because I’m Jewish.  Who can say for sure?
  9. Using two forks, I rolled the frozen balls of cheesecake around in the chocolate, and transferred them back to the parchment paper-covered pan.  I drizzled the white chocolate over the truffles, and then put the pans back into the fridge to chill.

BEHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLD!!!

Verdict: I made these too big, bigger than a mouthful, but woah-muh-gawd.  Quothe my Roommate:  “I never thought that you could top your Oreo Truffles, but you just did.  It’s got everything I want in a dessert . . it’s cheesecake and chocolate and all over my fingers.”

Truly, these are pretty delish.  Another night well-spent.  Sweet dreams to one and all.

About sleeplessbaker

Your average world traveling, ukulele playing, bawdy songwriting, Muppet loving, curve-rocking, formerly drunk-ass actor-singer-model-producer-blogger on a quest to get a handle on life-skills she should have learned in elementary school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cheesecake Truffles

  1. Holy OMG. AND you scrubbed your kitchen?!

    I, too, dread the coming TW:USA. There’s a small, stupid part of me that says to hope for some goodness….but the rest of me knows better. *sigh*

  2. I’m not attached enough to the show to dread what’s coming– but I just can’t see it being the same. Much of the show’s appeal to me is the adorable Welsh accents, and the whole idea that the apocalypse is going down in Cardiff.

  3. Katherine Kim says:

    Oh man, I have a new reason to scrub my cupboards out, now the antpocalypse seems to be over. Clean kitchen = more cooking. I will celebrate with these! 😀

    • Awesome!! If you do, definitely let me know how it goes.

      I should mention– I only used 12 ounces of cream cheese because that’s what I had . . if I were to do it over again I would definitely use the full 16 ounces the recipe calls for.

  4. Jess says:

    I can’t defend the Torchwood thing on any artistic level, but I do hope it works out since the people who made the deal with Starz are all quite lovely and do have the show’s best interests at heart.

  5. Pingback: Gluten-Free Cake Ballz | A Bit of Sweetness for the Sleepless

Leave a Reply

