Post-Insomnia Cream Biscuits

Greetings, loyal friends.

I’m very happy to say that the Grasshopper Brownies of Dooooom were a huge, huge hit at the event I threw last night with the illustrious Katelan Foisy.  A few of our guests were so besotted with the place that they didn’t want to leave until the wee hours of the morning– meaning that I managed to crawl home on the subway circa 2am.  Now, I’m the type of person that simply can’t get home and flop into bed– I need at least an hour of “me time” before retiring.  Last night, this entailed an old episode of Dr. Who and a cup of chamomile, before finally getting some z’s circa 3am.

This absolutely lovely chain of events unfortunately lead to a screaming headache and general sluggishness when I woke up this morning at 9.  Since the weather outside is frightful, I’m doing some work from home– meaning access to my oven.  Nothing soothes the insomnia-ridden soul like a freshly baked breakfast, especially one made with heavy cream and dipped in melted butter.

I swiped this recipe from Meanwhile, Back in the Kitchen, who in turn swiped the recipe from James Beard’s Beard on Bread.

  1. I preheated the oven to 425 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, put together 2 cups flour, 1 tbsp baking powder (yes, a whole tbsp), 2 tsps sugar, and 1 tsp sea salt, and fluffed the whole mix with a fork.

    Dough, ready for the baking

  3. Stirring consistently, I poured in 1 1/2 cups of heavy cream.  The batter looked too coarse and mealy, so I had to add in about 1/2 cup more cream.  It was still coarse and mealy, but heldtogether.
  4. I turned the batter out onto a floured surface, and kneaded it all together for about a minute.  The dough doesn’t need to be smooth or elastic, it just needs to be all sorta sticking to itself.
  5. I patted the thing into a kinda-sorta square about an inch thick.  Thicker than the recipe says, but I’m a rebel.
  6. I cut the square into 8 squarish bits, dipped those bits into a bowl of melted butter.  This pleases the Insomnibaker.
  7. I arranged the creamy, buttery bits on an ungreased baking pan, and baked the biscuits for 15 minutes, until they were puffy and browned and scrumptious.

BEHOLD MY FLAKEY DELICIOUSNESS!!!

Verdict: Good for what ails ya!! These are flakey and fattening and perfect, especially with a steaming cup of Earl Grey tea and fig preserves.  Your Inomnibaker is now ready for a productive day of emails and biscuits.  Tah!

About sleeplessbaker

Your average world traveling, ukulele playing, bawdy songwriting, Muppet loving, curve-rocking, formerly drunk-ass actor-singer-model-producer-blogger on a quest to get a handle on life-skills she should have learned in elementary school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post-Insomnia Cream Biscuits

  1. Ashmoe says:

    Those look amazing. We will have to do tea soon with delicious nibbly foods.

Leave a Reply

