Focaccia with Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Eggplant, and Red Onions

Midnight– the best time to make a focaccia!!

It’s not, really, but this is when I’m doing it.  My mother is in town to help my Big Sis take care of my New Niece, and she’s making a big bowl of pasta tomorrow night.  I promised to make bread.  Most of my breads, for want of a better word, suck.  But I’m trying.

I’m using this recipe from The Paupered Chef, which promises super-easy, never-fail focaccia every time.  I have my doubts (did I mention the sucking?), but I’m giving it a try.

Soon this shall be bread. Giggity giggity.

  1. I combined 2 cups bread flour and 2 cups all-purpose flour, one package yeast, and a handful of salt in a large bowl, and stirred it all up with a fork.
  2. I added, bit by bit, about 1.7 cups of warm water (which is nearish to 13.5 ounces, which the recipe calls for), and kneading it into the dough still in the bowl.
  3. When it seemed dough-y enough, I put it on a floured surface and, as the recipe says, “bashed it around for about five minutes”.
  4. I put it back in the bowl, floured it a bit, and then allowed it to rise.  I put it on top of the oven, preheating to 400.
  5. While that was happening, I chopped up some various veggies I had gotten at the Whole Foods salad bar (grilled eggplant, sun-dried tomatoes, and raw red onion).  I diced up the sun-dried tomatoes and left the rest chunky, then put them in a bowl with a healthy dose of olive oil, so that they could soak in all the olive oily goodness.  I can’t tell you how proud I was for thinking to raid the salad bar.  Pre-cooked veggies!! I’m a frickin’ genius!!

    Pre-cooked veggies, for bread topping.

  6. Except that my dough wasn’t rising.  After an internal monologue that would have made Lady Macbeth say, “Hey, sweetie, don’t be so hard on yourself”, I decided to attempt to save the bread using this tip from Ehow.com.
  7. Though I tried to proof the yeast twice, it didn’t seem to be proofing.  By that point, however, the bread seemed to be rising on its own.  Goddamn bread.  Such a tease.  Whatever.  YOU TAKE YOUR SWEET TIME, BREAD.
  8. I help myself to an Ooey Gooey Brownie and a Netflix episode of Family Guy to calm myself down.
  9. Okay, so maybe two brownies.
  10. Patience is a virtue.  Like good bread baking.  Or something.  I’m Netflixing, and waiting for bread to rise.  Sigh.
  11. After, like, AN HOUR– THANKS BREAD, I punched down the dough.  It felt good.
  12. I drizzled a healthy dose of olive oil into a pan (my slightly-smaller than 9×13 pan, larger than an 8×8 pan), and spread it around the pan.  I turned the dough over in the pan until it was all oily and gorgeous, which made me feel more amenable to the dough.  I needed to let it rise again, so I kept it on the warm oven (still all preheating, wasting mucho gas) under a dishtowel.
  13. I have to confess, half the reason I watch Family Guy is because Seth McFarlane sounds a lot like exactly the kind of wiseacre douchebag I used to date.  Also because any show that features Patrick Warburton deserves to be watched.  He was The Tick and Brock Samson.   Just sayin’.
  14. JEEBUS, bread takes forever to rise.  At this rate I’m going to get exactly no sleep.
  15. After the bread has finally gotten all puffy again, I spoon the vegetable / oil mixture over the dough, and add on some Parrano shavings (it’s apparently a kind of cheese from Holland.  I don’t know, it was whatever was near the express line at Whole Foods.
  16. The focaccia takes about 25 minutes to bake, and my apartment smells yeasty, eggplanty, and amazing.

 

Look at me! I take forever to rise! That's what she said!

 

Verdict:  Pretty delicious, though not as good as it could be considering it took two hours, and I have to wake up at 8am.  If I make this again (and I’m gonna try at some point), I would mix some parmesan into the dough, and let it rise more.

But hey– real bread to bring to dinner tomorrow night.  Worth it.

About sleeplessbaker

Your average world traveling, ukulele playing, bawdy songwriting, Muppet loving, curve-rocking, formerly drunk-ass actor-singer-model-producer-blogger on a quest to get a handle on life-skills she should have learned in elementary school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Focaccia with Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Eggplant, and Red Onions

  1. I eat with my eyes 🙂 I loved the pictue it made my mouth water…now I have added it to my list of things to cook!

  2. Pingback: Onion Foccacia, Take 2 | A Bit of Sweetness for the Sleepless

Leave a Reply

